Culture & Religion

Goddess Nava Durga

Goddess Nava Durga is the protector goddess of Bhaktapur city. Goddess Nava Durga is the nine manifestations of Goddess Durga that has high importance and significance in Bhaktapur. Goddess Nava Durga is the combined incarnation of nine supreme goddesses. Bramhayeni, Maheshwari, Kumari, Bhadrakali, Barahi, Indrayani, Maha Kali, Maha Laxmi, and Tripura Sundari are combinedly known as the Nava Durga. 

Nava Durga Temple lies at the Kwathando, Bhaktapur. It is popular for its elaborately carved windows and doors made from wood carved and metals carved. The chariot of Bhairav is carved by wood in the northern facade window and has great importance. There are huge crowds of devotees in Dashain (the greatest festival of Nepal). Dashain is celebrated in the month of October in Nepal. From the 9th and 10th days of Dashain, Nava Durga is reborn in the city each year.

The Nava Durga dance of Bhaktapur officially begins on the day of Marga Shukla Navami and Dashami in Jaya Bageswori. After that, the goddesses perform the dance at other places like Thimi, Sankhu, Nala, Banepa, Dhulikhel, Panauti, and Changu. On the day of Tachalaga Bhalabhala Ashtami, the mask of the goddesses is burnt at Bramhayani after an act of worshipping all the goddesses concluding the festive of the Nava Durga.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *